Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught. To what extent do you agree/disagree?

Some people hold the view that academic knowledge should be given to students so they can succeed in tests, and life skills such as cooking or dressing shouldn’t be taught. I disagree with the view since pupils perform as well as possible in life,both theoretical information and basic life abilities should be provided in education. On the one hand, studying academic material is crucial for students in different ways. First, academic subjects equip students with fundamental knowledge that will be used in tertiary education. For instance, most undergraduates at Vietnam University have to pass some dangerous subjects like Advanced Mathematics or Microeconomics, which are made up of material taught in high school. Without enough comprehension, students risk failing the final test and redoing the time-consuming and expensive study sessions on this topic. Second, passing the exam with a high score may have advantages in future careers, studying abroad or getting a scholarship. For example, nowadays most big companies offer jobs with high benefits for excellent students working in their company; students with good academic performance and test scores will be recruited. Nevertheless, there are several reasons why students still need to improve their practical skills. Gaining these essential skills gives them more independence and confidence wherever they are. To do example, if they go to study abroad or travel alone without their family members, they can use the life skills that they learned, knowing how to prepare healthy and affordable meals by themselves instead of eating out or impressing others by dressing. Thus, opening classes on life skills should be encouraged. In addition, attending skill-building classes at school is an effective way to help students relax after theoretical subjects time at school. In conclusion, while academic knowledge should be taught to help pupils pass the exam, I strongly believe that life skills also need to be considered at school for student comprehensive development.