Computer games are very popular for all ages and nationalities. Parents think this has little educational value and it will be harmful for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the present world, many people play games on computers. Parents believe that computer games do not have any benefits and could have negative impacts on children. I partially agree with this idea and feel that it has both positive and negative aspects. On the one hand, computer games have several educational values. Children could play with children from different nationalities, and through these games, they might find new friends from all over the globe. Their friendships make them familiar with each others’ cultures and traditions. As a result, it could increase children ’s general knowledge. Moreover, it is a fact that children who play games have better fine motor skills. In some professions, this ability helps people to be more successful. For example, surgeons who used to play digital games in childhood learn the various techniques of laparoscopic surgery faster than others. Consequently, these games are useful in childhood, due to entertaining them and in their future jobs. However, there are some drawbacks to playing computer games. One of the most important ones is a sedentary lifestyle. Those playing games sit for several hours in front of a computer and only hit keyboards. They also consume some unhealthy snacks such as chips, while focusing on games. Therefore, gradually they might be overweight and even obese, which could put their general health in danger. Furthermore, they hit the keyboard for long hours, and these repeated movements, in the long run, can damage the small joints in the hands. For instance, there is a new terminology as a game thumb which involves those who play games for long periods. Thus, according to parents’ opinions, it could harm children. In conclusion, although playing computer games could increase the general knowledge of offspring and strengthen their motor skills, it could cause some physical health conditions. As a consequence, I believe that playing computer games has benefits and drawbacks. I recommend that parents let them play but for a certain amount of time.