Some people believe that hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that leisure activities have to be complex to be amusing. However, this essay will disagree with the said statement. I believe that hobbies are chosen for their calming benefits as well as a necessity for not challenging activities in order to leave their routine. On the one hand, when selecting a leisure activity, individuals typically prioritize enjoyment and relaxation over the level of difficulty. Furthermore, individuals decide on their hobby on how enjoyable it is and its simplicity since they have a need for relaxation, a need for a distraction from their busy lifestyle. For instance, 50% of the Spanish workforce usually decide to enjoy simple activities outside as a way to decompress from their hectic lives, and 30% of the previous proportion work in the medical industry. Everyone, on the other hand, is under pressure whether it is a student, an employee or a businessman. Therefore, a mind-twisting, complicated and tiring activity is not going to help the human to be relaxed after a hectic day. Even worse, it can tire people more and decline their performance at their actual job. For example, the University of Warwick’s survey in 2023 has proven that when an occupied individual plays an extreme sport such as parachuting, their work capacity decreases by 25% every three months after starting the hobby. In conclusion, for a vast part of the population and myself, enjoyable hobbies are not always complex. People would rather choose a certain activity for its calming benefits and as a way to break from their everyday life.