Some college freshmen find that the subjects they choose are not suitable for them. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve the problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, a proportion of first-year university students are not content with their selected fields of study. This essay will initially explain why this is happening, followed by some strategies which can resolve this issue. There are primarily two factors behind why some new tertiary pupils are finding their majors unsuitable. The first one is that they have little understanding of the subjects before making their decision. Some students choose interpretation as their major because different media resources they are exposed to make them believe that being an interpreter is a “cool" job. However, a fact they may neglect is their inability to bear the intensive training discouraging them from continuing their learning. Another point is that the courses are not structured well. Some might only have lectures while tutorials are excluded; also students may have limited time to study before a new topic comes. All these will provide students with insufficient opportunities to digest the knowledge. To tackle this challenge several approaches can be adopted. To begin with students can conduct early research regarding the courses they intend to take. They can browse the internet, especially university websites to gain more information about their majors. Alternatively, they can attend the Open Day of their ideal universities during which time constructive suggestions can be given by the lecturers and professors on the spot. Additionally, universities should review different aspects of their courses on a regular basis. Teaching teams themselves can organise meetings to discuss how to improve their courses, and different schools can rely on students ’ feedback as a significant source of data upon which to make changes to better cater to all students. In conclusion, students ’ lack of understanding of their selected majors prior to final decisions and unreasonable course settings are the main causes of some university freshmen being unsatisfied with their courses. However, if students do some research on what they want to learn in advance, and meanwhile, universities evaluate their course syllabuses regularly, this problem can be solved effectively.