In many places, new homes are needed, but only space available is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to save the countryside and not to build new homes there. Write an essay and express your opinion.

The growing population around the world has increased the demand for new, cheap houses but due to limited space, these houses can only be built in the countryside. In this essay, I will explore why the need for affordable housing outweighs the need to protect the countryside. Saving the natural environment from destruction is essential to combat climate change. This is because deforestation leads to a significant increase in carbon dioxide levels as trees are able to absorb nearly ten tonnes of carbon dioxide from the atmosphere. A study done by the University of Oxford revealed that cutting trees which are old has a detrimental impact on CO2 levels not only in the present by also in the future. This is because old trees have a better system of converting harmful gases into oxygen which is needed for every species on the planet. As a result, at least thirty to fifty years are needed to grow new ineffective trees into mature effective trees which can combat global warming. But on the other hand, the current cost of living crisis has only made it possible for the middle class to live paycheck to paycheck. This is because the major expense of any household is rent which is nearly two-thirds of their take-home pay, as the Ministry of Housing revealed data which showed that rent for an average two-bedroom apartment was nearly $1200. This is unsustainable because it will drive more and more people into accommodations which they can afford but are not comfortable with. For instance, a family of four used to live comfortably in a three-bedroom semi-detached house but due to the rising cost of living, they were forced to move into a two-bedroom flat which is cramped for space. Therefore, if affordable housing is not provided then a large portion of the population will struggle to have a decent living standard hence sacrificing some areas of the countryside is important to resolve this issue. In conclusion, I believe the need for housing is a bigger issue that has to be solved as we cannot expel more and more people into poverty because they are unable to have a roof under their heads. However, in the future an agreement can be signed by the government to have natural reserves where construction is prohibited to take into account the need to save the environment.