You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Some argue that advertising will influence us to purchase items that we do not need. On the contrary, some believe advertisements could help us find products that could improve our lives. I strongly agree with the first statement and will explain further in this essay below. On the one hand, being constantly exposed to advertising daily throughout our lives will affect the type of items that we purchase. For example, if you would see advertising on successful men wearing only a Rolex watch. You would think that in order to be successful, you need to purchase a Rolex watch. Thus, this will make you want to obtain the Rolex watch in order to be perceived as a successful man in society. On the other hand, if you cannot find a product that can help you, for example, if you cannot find a good shampoo for dry hair and suddenly you see advertising about this miracle shampoo that fixes your dry hair within one week, and it works for you. I would agree that in some cases advertisements could be good; however, in most of cases this is not true based on what I have heard from my own experiences. From what I have read online it seems that the general public are not a fan of advertisements and in many cases, are buying premium subscription in order to remove the ads. In conclusion, while some argue that advertisement is a bad influence on the general public whereas others think it is a good influence, it is proven that the general public are not a fan of advertising. I would recommend that you are careful of what you are reading and seeing and that you are doing your own research instead of go with what the advertisement says.