Organized tours to remote community and other countries are increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and environment? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Package tours to distant areas and communities have gained popularity in recent years due to the beautiful natural landscapes and unique flora and fauna. It is argued that this trend benefits both local residents in terms of increasing financial resources and stimulating employment. However, I believe it can jeopardize the natural environment and the conditions of local people. The main advantage of package holidays to remote areas is that it makes a significant tax contribution to the local government's budget. As a result, essential infrastructure, such as installing drainage systems or building hospitals, would boost local economy and raise the living standards of local people. Moreover, such development creates more employment in the local areas. Tourists visiting these regions generate a high demand for goods and services, which alleviate unemployment and provide alternative income sources for indigenous dwellers. For instance, local residents can earn a living by selling souvenirs such as traditional handicrafts or accessories to visitors. However, when too many tourists visit natural sceneries, the environment and its inhabitants invariably suffer negative impacts. Firstly, constructing tourism facilities can drastically change the landscape of isolated regions meaning habitat destruction for local species. An illustration of this is that local authorities chop gigantic trees to build huge entertainment parks and give way to widened roads. Also massive hordes of tourists swarming these remote communities severely affect local peoples living conditions. Tourists often leave behind plenty of wastes such as oxygen cylinders, leading to littered roads or clogged sewage systems. Without proper measures, the waste disposal problems will result in poor sanitation and disturb the region's ecological balance. In sum, although the increasing package holidays to remote destinations can be seen as a positive development to individuals, it is more likely to exert negative effect on local environment. Policymakers should ensure that tourism activities have a minimal environmental impact, and such development can promote a stable and equitable economic development.