Some people believe that the activities of large multinational corporations mostly benefit the economies of developing countries. Other people take the opposite view and feel that these large multinationals are generally harmful. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Every multinational giant wants to spread their wings in emerging nations to increase their market share. Some individuals believe that it is beneficial to the end users whereas others feel that it could have devastating effects on the local economy. I completely agree with the latter statement and this essay will explain both sides with examples. The main intention of any multinational company is to enhance its products reach. Because of that reason, they expand their branches in developing nations to constantly increase their consumer base. They expect to gain more profitability. Hindustan Unilever, for example, is running its operations in India with a vast range of popular brands such as Lux, Surf Excel, Dove and many others. These highly demanded items made Indian citizens spend more money on their daily shopping. As a result, India has become one of the greatest consumer spending markets in the world. However, it has a limited scope and more harm to the local economy. Many individuals, including myself, feel that these large corporations could affect local micro and small entrepreneurs. It is very convenient for well-known brands to spend huge amounts of money on marketing to snatch away customers from domestic companies. Uber Eats in the USA, for instance, has negatively impacted small restaurant owners as customers find it easy to order food online. Thus, it has narrowed the growth opportunities for regional food businesses and, eventually could hamper the growth of the country. To summarize, although it is undoubtedly proven that big international companies help customers with more choices, they could kill local businesses. In my perspective, this trend could have a high probability of shutting down innumerable local shops, and it should be restricted.