Technology allows food to be produced in greater quantities at lower prices. Some people believe this is a positive development, while others feel that the change is harmful. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

Presently, technology is at the forefront of the lives of people and it is constantly evolving. One aspect in which it extends itself is that of food and this revolves around increasing the yield which in turn reduces the prices. Some hold the view that it is a positive development while others consider it to be harmful. In this essay, I will discuss both views and finally, give my own opinion. Firstly, we cannot deny that in modern times we are unable to separate ourselves from technology as they are the root of all development and in times of population expansion, it can play a major role in food security. For example, we can see the news that more agro-biotech companies are conducting research which ensures more food availability with better quality due to increasing the nutritional profile using various scientific methods. This leads to many appreciating the benefits that it brings and is really optimistic about its future as it can act as a safety net for mankind and strongly support such steps. Seeing the current scenario, will shape more individuals who will firmly land their hand as this is the only way forward for all of us. On the other side, some are really concerned about walking on such a path and they harshly criticize those who are progressing on this journey. For example, there are many debates being held by activists who are against GMOs and super crops as they believe that tinkering with nature can bring bad consequences in the long run as nobody knows about their effects on the stretched horizon. Extending to the previous point, it seems that those people do have a fair point in terms of that there is limited research being done in terms of its safety and on the basis of such a weak foundation, no concrete decision should be taken as it can turn disastrous. It seems a logical move to be suspicious of anything which we are not aware of completely and that is the reason for the backlash. In conclusion, based on all the points mentioned before, awareness is the most important thing and people should be given complete knowledge about it by the government and scientists. In addition to that, more tests should be conducted to ensure safety. Once both the points are taken into account then I do have the opinion that such modern scientific produce will ensure the survival of our species and is really helpful for all of us and our future children.