Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is indubitable fact that the health sector has been improved from the past few decades and hence, people are now living better than past. Some people come with the notion that the aged people are a burden on the higher authority, whereas, others think that it is always good to have the elderly population in a country. I believe that advantages of having the old aged persons are far more in comparison with drawbacks. However, there are some responsibilities which the government and family members should take for well being of the senior citizens. To commence with, the first benefit of having the aged people is guidance which one can get after conversing with them. In other words, the older people are more experienced than adults; therefore, they can teach them in an effective manner by providing better understanding. For example, it is always seen that the children that take advice of their grandparents do better in every field as compared to their peers which do not involve their elders in their life decisions. The another prominent reason for having the old aged people is the responsibilities that they can take care of. Children or adults do not feel alone as they very well know that they have their elders with them that can handle any tough situation. For instance, it is observed through surveys of India that youngster who have old aged people in the family do not bother much regarding finances since all such work in being handled by the aged ones. On the other hand, taking care of the old aged people is one of the biggest liability which individuals have to carry. This is because of their medical conditions, dependancy and less strength in muscles. Thus, the onus is on family members and youth to take proper care of the senior members of the society. In conclusion, it is always beneficial to have our elders with us as they give right path towards our goals and satisfaction with their presence; nonetheless, in return, they only want love, respect and care from their children and society.