Television dominates the free-time of too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socialising with others. Do you agree or disagree?

Most people spend the majority of their free time watching television and this can cause laziness and self-isolation among people. I agree with this initiative because sitting in front of the television for a long time makes people lose interest in outdoor activities and have a tendency to separate themselves from society. Individuals who use most of their leisure time to stick their eyes to the screen would turn themselves into couch potatoes. This is because when lying on the bed or on the sofa, turning on the television to watch their favourite film or TV show, people might find it a lot more comfortable than engaging in other activities such as doing sports or doing house chores. The consequence of this behaviour is that humans become lazier than ever, refusing to do anything but enjoy themselves and immersing in whatever channel they like on television. For example, in Vietnam, it's recorded that nearly 80% of children watch TV for the majority of their time and only a small minority proportion of them do sports including running and swimming for a couple of hours a day. Another drawback of watching television for long hours is that humans will become less likely to participate in conversations with other people and hang out with their friends. With today's fast-paced life, human beings find it more and more difficult to have time for themselves so they prefer to spend their valuable private moments on advanced technology like TV. Therefore, they no longer have time to date out with their bosom fellows or even their family since they are either too tired to go out with others or they are so addicted to the digital screen that they don't want to be disturbed by anyone at all, which results in their unwillingness to socialise with the society. For instance, in China, 60% of the population admitted that they didn't have many friends since they didn't go out as usual as before. Instead, they find it a lot more pleasant to lie at home and watch television to relax after a hard-working day. In conclusion, the existence of television has taken up a large amount of people's leisure time which not only leads to laziness in the community but also reduces the social connection among human beings.