Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? High schools should allow students to study the courses that students want to study. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Some people think that students should be allowed to choose subjects in the schools while others argue that learners should follow the mandatory syllabus given by the institution. I would agree with the former statement because it will be beneficial for peers in numerous ways. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay. To begin with, the pupils can explore more career options by selecting the course of their choice because they will be able to pursue their interest in a particular subject in the long term. They will excel more in chosen studies rather than the forced lessons. For instance, a high school syllabus has advanced physics and one doesn't see any prospective after finishing that course. At the same time, if they have an opportunity to select their own study material, that will increase their passion for studies and also assist them to find high-paying jobs. Thus, it will be an advantage for students in order to shape their future according to themselves. Furthermore, Studying without any passion will not only waste time but also decline the potential to learn other important subjects. It will increase the stress among the peers which will lead to a decrease in their overall performance. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. In high school I was planning to pursue medical studies in future but due to my inability to choose subjects I had to take classes in advanced mathematics that took my time away for an extra biology class. Therefore, that one compulsory subject decreased my results in final exams. So, it's important for tutees to make decisions to avoid unwanted subjects and save time for other courses. To sum up, I strongly agree that students should choose their study material because they will be able to pursue topics with regard to their forthcoming and refrain to waste time on undesirable subjects.