In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In more and more modern society these days, the quality of people ’s lives is better than in the past and the age of elder people is higher so the number of elderly people is increasing in some nations. Some individuals think that this can have many problems for the government. Whereas, others believe that this brings more positive effects to society. This essay will discuss both sides and give my opinion. On the one hand, there are several drawbacks when old population is more and more increasing. One of the main reasons, older people are too old to do some specific jobs which required physical strength such as builder, worker and so on. Besides that many office jobs need young people who are creative and active and they can update new technology and learn faster than elder people. Thus, this lead to lack of human resources in many fields which is important to develop economy. In addition, the government has to spend a large amount of money to pay for the elderly such as social benefits, insurance and other pensions. Instead of using this money to fund building schools, hospitals, and transport which are very essential for each country. On the other hand, there is no doubt that elder people have more experience than young people in many aspects. In the economy, the old has a long time to research and experiment projects and they could find out potential points to take success in their career. Almost of billionaires and successful people in the world are old people, and this contributes to a prosperous country. Lastly, young people can learn a lot of knowledge from the elderly and they can shorten the time to improve themselves,especially under conducting of elder people, the country can be developed faster and more strongly. To conclude, in my opinion, although this phenomenon has some negative effects, I believe that the advantages of ageing outweigh the disadvantages.