Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been much debate about whether students who have the most excellent performance or ones who show significant development should be awarded. It seems to me that rather than rewarding students with outstanding scores in a school year, schools should facilitate improving undergraduates to enhance their study results. On the one hand, it is clear that giving rewards to the best-performed students is a practice of most schools. To their mind, examination is synonymous with a competition, where all the contestants strive for the winning spot. As a result, the act of awarding will definitely show themselves that they are the winners, therefore boost and stablize their motivation and excitement for studying. Consequently, those students will make greater process and achieve better results. Moreover, other undergraduates will derive extreme inspiration from the ones awarded, hence they will be determined to focus on their studying so as to enhance their academic results. On the other hand, students with considerable enhancement in their scores should be given rewards for their determination and hard work. They have always been exposed to programs, podcasts, or teachers’ words about the results of being patient and disciplined. As a consequence, their being honored will meet their aspiration and therefore strengthen their beliefs. Furthermore, if schools only award students who performed outstandingly, others will hold the thought that they can never reach the winning spot, and the prize is never made for them. Accordingly, some of them will believe that they are suffering from injustice, therefore have the tendency to accept their imaginary fact; thus, their potential will be hindered and it will be challenging for them to thrive. For the reasons mentioned above, I believe that undergraduates who make considerable improvements in their academic scores should be given the deserved rewards.