Social media enable people to keep in touch with each other and learn about news events. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, technology has become the most popular trend all over the world. People have the opportunity to be at home to learn different things and news and communicate through social networks, such as Instagram, Telegram, Facebook and others. Moreover, we do not always go to our friends' homes, in order to see them, because we can talk with them by telephone or video call. This essay will discuss both the pros and cons. Overall, the internet gives us a chance to keep in touch with friends or family when they are far away. Also, with the help of digital technologies, we watch the news from other countries and learn new data about the world. Although we have other options to get the news, people prefer to use exactly media platforms or televisions. For example, not so long ago we read newspapers and mostly learned information from there, then began to develop social media and various applications. Likewise, the young population can gain knowledge and improve through the apps. On the other hand, there are disadvantages. Some people say that social media destroy the psyche of their children, as well as, loss of communication skills, because they spend a lot of time on their gadgets. Other reasons are the propaganda of terrorism and different life-threatening games. For instance, two years ago on the internet appeared a game called Momo, and teenagers were forced to perform dangerous tasks, but if they refused, they were blackmailed, sent threatening messages and, unfortunately, some even died. In conclusion, social networks are an integral part of the modern world but still have more flaws. Thus, the government should take control of them and ban those who own negative materials.