In some countries, it is now possible for people to buy products made in other countries. To what extent do the benefits of this development outweigh the problems?

Currently, it is increasingly common for people to purchase imported products such as food and clothes. I think it is a positive change although it has a damaging effect on the environment. It is beneficial for consumers to buy imported products because this can decrease the cost of living. The countries exporting these products usually have the technologies and knowledge to control the manufacturing cost, which leads to lower commodity prices. In addition, fierce competition urges local producers to cut prices. Consumers can benefit from this since their disposable income rises. Another advantage is that consumers take more options when they go shopping. It is difficult for local people to buy some food and household products due to geographic locations and weather conditions there. Imported goods allow people to improve their quality of life because they can purchase the products they need. For instance, imported food is likely to alleviate the food shortage due to extreme weather in some areas. On the other hand, the downside is that it will probably lead to environmental issues if the country is too dependent on imported products. It is necessary for importers to transport a long distance. Transportation can cause pollution because aeroplanes and vehicles can create emissions. All in all, I believe that imported products have a positive effect on consumers although it causes damage to the environment.