Restoration of old buildings in main cities involves enormous government expenditure. It would be more beneficial to spend this money to build new houses and roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, restoring and maintaining dated buildings in major cities takes considerable government funding. Some people think that it would be more beneficial to use this tax money to construct new homes and infrastructures. In my opinion, I agree with this idea, except in the case of historic and iconic buildings that should be conserved. On the one hand, the societies developed are the societies that can provide their citizens with the basic need of housing. Numerous large cities are confronted with a major housing problem because of increasing population density and lack of residential land. Because of that, it would be irrational to spend public money to restore old buildings, when more people need to buy a place to live. For example, if an old building in a certain city seems to be degrading and unfit for purpose, it should be demolished and replaced with a high-rise building which could accommodate hundreds of people. In this way, the authority will ensure that it can decrease the homeless population and improve the quality of life. On the other hand, there are some buildings that are worth restoring because of their symbolic and historical significance. Their preservation is part of the culture and can serve for education about the history, getting to know the origin and legends of those buildings. For instance, Hoi An Old Quarter is one of the historical sites and beautiful places of Da Nang city and this place attracts a lot of tourists from around the world every year, so it needs funds from the government to develop and protect it. In conclusion, I agree that constructing more new roads and houses play an important role since there are some benefits that they bring and it should be prioritized over restoring old buildings, except historically significant constructions.