Some people think the government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles in order to solve environment problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying that carbon emission that cars and other transportation causes has brought serious environmental issues, and some people believe that government should ask citizens to pay more for the fuel. In my opinion, I do agree this statement but I also consider that there are other methods to solve the problem. On one hand, it may be helpful if the government implement the policy that people should spend more money on fuel or gas. The reason is that due to the rise in cost, people might not consider driving their own car and choosing to take public transportation, which helps to eliminate carbon emissions. Furthermore, if government increase the cost of fuel, there will be more money for them to improve the well-being of the country. Therefore, there are some benefits if the government decides to raise the price of fuel. On the other hand, I believe that gas emission from vehicles isn't the only reason for environmental issues. Therefore, the government should look further and try to figure out other methods to deal with the problem. Firstly, they should encourage people to save the earth with small things which we can do in our daily lives. To illustrate, turn off the light if you don't need it or simply take a shower rather than a bath. Secondly, governments could improve the public transport system so that people will be more willing to use it.  In conclusion, environmental problems could not be tackled easily just by increasing the fuel price, but there are also other reasons. Therefore, the government have to think more thoroughly and put all methods into use.