Some people say that television is useful for education, while others say it is more useful for entertainment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Although a group of people believe that television is helpful for educational purposes, others, however, believe it is more helpful for entertainment. This essay agrees with the latter group because television hosts a variety of talk shows. On the one hand, documentaries are streamed on television and educate viewers about various topics in life. Whether it is about engineering, the culture of different countries, or even animals in Antarctica. People usually listen to these shows in a passive way, which means without focusing on the content. Thus, it is not effective in retaining information. For example, researchers showed that individuals are more likely to recall information and facts if they discuss the topic rather than just listen to someone talking. On the other hand, Streaming talk shows on television are entertaining. This is because each show targets a certain group of people with similar interests. There are shows about celebrities and their life, or about making cakes, or even showing the process of building a house. For instance, the Ellen Show is a popular talk show that hosts celebrities to talk about their lives and play games. It is very successful because young people watch it every day for pleasure. In conclusion, even though television streams documentaries that are considered to be highly educational, people do not retain this information as much as when discussing the topics. Television is more useful as an entertainment tool.