Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments.

In this day and age, experiments on animals, which is a controversial topic, are often discussed yet rarely understood. My own view on this matter is that this experiment is completely cruel and inhuman. To put an end to this situation, non-animal methods are created by technological advancement and replace merciless methods. It is undeniable that animal testing has had an influential role in almost all medical breakthroughs for hundreds of years. More especially, animal research has provided mankind to achieve life-changing discoveries through modern drugs, vaccines and various procedures. Moreover, testing on animals has rescued and improved millions of lives. This approach has benefited scientists in comprehending how to treat and prevent various conditions such as high blood pressure, diabetes, poliomyelitis and other diseases. Additionally, there are many genetic similarities between some animals and humans. According to scientific research, humans are 98% genetically analogous to mice, this resemblance enables accurate testing of human genes. On the other hand, countless animals are experimented on and then killed after their usage whilst others are injured and still live the remainder of their lives in captivity. In addition, this research generally costs an enormous amount of money, as the animals must be fed, looked after and treated with medicines. Animals and humans are never exactly the same, so reactions in animals when the application on humans can fail. However, the world’s most forward-thinking researchers are developing non-animal methods for studying diseases and testing products. Almost all types of human and animal cells can be grown in the laboratory. Therefore, scientists have grown cells into 3D structures, such as miniature human organs, which can test new therapies. This is clearly a leap in science and escapes thousands of creatures. In conclusion, the science relating to animal experiments is cruel and cannot be defensible. Thus, due to innovations in science, animal tests should be replaced by more humane methods.