Levels of youth crime are increasing rapidly in most cities around the world. What are the reasons for this, and suggest some solutions?

In the present TIMES, the increase in the degree of crimes committed by the youth has become a major concern around the world. The major possible reasons for increase in Juvenile crime rate could be the dearth of employment opportunities and poverty which can be handled by providing employment opportunities alongwith narrowing the income inequality gap. There could be many reasons contributing to the issue of rising crimes committed by the youngster. One such reason could be the lack of job opportunities. It means that many youngsters struggle to find jobs after completing their education as the curriculum fails to provide relevant practical skills required for the jobs. Also, most employers prefer experienced candidates over fresh graduates. This further leads to the problem of Economic inequality. Thus insufficient skills and financial resources deprives them of the basic lifestyle which leaves them with no choice but to engage in unlawful acts. Turning to possible solutions, the curriculum should be tailored to not only meet the needs of the employer’s but also make the youth self sufficient that guarantees basic and smooth survival. Furthermore, this would also promote income equality leading to more balanced society. In addition, government could launch policies that minimizes the economic gap. To conclude, since youngsters are the building blocks of any nation, increase in the wrong deeds by this section of society poses a serious threat as it means wastage of most important rescource. These illegal activites could be curbed with the joint efforts of the government and the employer’s.