Some people think that all university students sould study whatever they like. Others believe that they shoyld only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Some individuals hold the belief that students should study their favourite subject at university, while some others believe that pupils should major in specific practical fields. I support the first idea due to the positive impacts on both society and individuals. On one hand, some people think that pupils’ choices should be limited to peculiar profitable majors because of several reasons. Firstly, they consider that these fields can develop more job opportunities than other fields and bring prosperity and welfare for both society in terms of economic growth and individuals in terms of wealth and life satisfaction, thus the students will have a promising future. Furthermore, in today’s modern world and industrial society it is essential for nations to have specialists and experts in different branches of science and industry and will lead to a higher number of products and money for countries, therefore the economic development will rise as well. On the other hand, giving our adolescents the chance to study their desired major would have positive outcomes. Primarily, depriving juveniles from studying the major which they favour will eliminate their creativity and innovation and can affect their life satisfaction significantly which can even lead to serious problems such as depression. Moreover, if students have the opportunity to major in the field that they have an avid passion for, they will work much more enthusiastically which will lead to innovative creations. In addition, the concepts of development and social welfare are not just limited to economic and materialistic achievements. When someone devotes their time, Energy and money to what they like, they will not only create masterpieces but also feel happy and satisfied which is the real definition of welfare. In conclusion, I opine that pupils should be free to choose their desired major at university, in order to reach both individual and social prosperity in their lives.