Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Nowadays, there is a growing number of people who are keen on acquiring other languages in addition to their moder tongue. While some people would argue that the only reason behind this trend is for the sake of traveling or working, I am in fovour of those who claim these are not the only factors which encourage this tendency. This essay will explain why stance after the discussion on both sides. On the one hand, it is widely admitted that learning a new language is one of the most advantageous activity to live in the modern world in the light of globalisation. In terms of work, there is an increasing demand of online conference these days beyond the border, due to the development of communication, which means business men may be needed to speak other language. If a man do not have a command of the common language in the meeting, the likelihood of failing the negociation negotiations can go up since they cannot speak out his claim. As for travelling, we have been enabled to take a trip easily compared to the past thanks to the modern transportation system. For instance, in some parts of Europian countries, EU citizens are allowed to cross the border to enter other countries. Considering this, they could be motivated to learn a new language so that they can feel confident in their trip destinations. On the other hand, there are also other catalysts to let people learn new languages, the most obvious of which is education. As multilingual students have more choice where to study including foreign countries, they can obtain greater education availabilities than those who are monolingual. Additionally, people can explore their life more by learning new languages. This is because they may be enabled to communicate with people from different walks of life, which helps them to enjoy more appreciation to this globe. In conclusion, although travelling and work are major practical reasons for people to study new languages, these are not the only impetus for everyone who enjoy learning new languages bacause there are some leaners whose purpose is to expand their capability by studying abroad and making foreign friends.