Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Nowadays, many people are leaving their nine-to-five jobs and starting their businesses, leaving society in a conundrum - why are hard-working employees quitting their corporate jobs and creating the path of entrepreneurship? The Reason could vary person-to-person, but the most common answers are flexibility in the office timing, passion for owning a business, and money earned proportional to efforts and hard work put into the business, unlike cooperate jobs where some people do not get paid for extra time. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for such a shift and the disadvantages of being self-employed. On the one hand, being a business owner comes with flexibility in the work schedule. Individuals can plan their day as per their preference. For instance, they can skip the peak hours metro rush and conveniently delay their start. In addition, if they have to put extra effort into their business, the reward (money) would be prominent. The passion and dedication towards their business is also higher than being employed by someone else. On the other hand, self-employed people manifest higher financial risk. If the market goes down, the impact would be fatal. For example, in the crash of 2008, many self-employed business owners declared bankruptcy. Apart from that, such individuals also experience disastrous work -life balance, as they always work. They can never leave the work behind, impacting their health in the long run. To sum up, we discussed the reasons motivating employees to quit nine-to-five and start their ventures. Flexible time and passion to work for themself are the key highlights. Then we briefly shed some light on the downfalls of being self-employed - higher financial risk and disturbed work -life balance.