The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this. To what extent do you agree?

It is argued that compared with treating existing patients and their illnesses, it is more valuable to prevent those diseases by funding the development of healthcare industry. I partially agree with this opinion and believe that financial investment in illnesses is still necessary in contemporary society. On the one hand, the prevention of diseases should be valued with an increase in governmental funding because it can reduce the illness rate from the beginning. That means with the help of healthcare professionals, people can live a healthy life by eating proper food or taking routine exercise, which can mitigate their potential health problems, leading to the improvement of their life quality. For example, as the research related to obesity goes deeper, it has prevented many people with over-weighted problems from getting severe illnesses, such as heart disease or diabetes. Therefore, it is reasonable for governments to financially support the development of healthcare. On the other hand, the breakthroughs in medicine and treatment have undeniable contributions to people's life and this industry is still playing a crucial role to improve the overall well-being. No matter how great we tried to prevent diseases, people would still get sick someday naturally. Under such circumstances, proper treatments can help patients by diagnosing their problems, reducing their pain, and curing them from serious illnesses which may cause death, thereby, resulting in longer and healthier life for the general public. For example, because of the findings of antibiotics, people nowadays never need to worry about the miserable situation that happened during the Black Death will come again. Considering these reasons, governments should continuously fund the research of medicine. In conclusion, from my perspective, although healthcare institutions play a critical role in improving the life quality of the general public, medical development still has its essential value in the improvement of well-being. It is important for the government to strike a balance in financially supporting these two industries, as both of them have the same aim, which is to promise a healthier life for people around the world.