Some people believe that it is wrong to keep animals in zoos, while others think that zoos are both entertaining and ecologically important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s modern society, it is considered by some people that holding animals in zoos is not appropriate while others say that zoos provide both entertainment and ecological value. While zoos can bring certain benefits, I am firmly convinced that it is more appropriate for animals to live in the wild. On the one hand, there are some reasons why animals may be kept in zoos. The main reason for this is that zoos can help to protect endangered species that are on the verge of extinction. This is mainly because scientists can maintain the breed of endangered species by helping them reproduce. As a result, the population of these species will be maintained so that they will not become extinct. For example, in China, pandas are usually kept in zoos where they are taken care of carefully. On the other hand, it is my firm belief that it is unethical to keep animals in zoos because of some reasons. To begin with, animals can lose their instinct for hunting and fighting if kept in zoos for a long time. As a result, when they are released to the wild, it may be hard for them to survive in the harsh environment. For instance, when living in zoos, a lot of animals are fed by zookeepers, so they cannot hunt anymore. Moreover, there are some organizations that just focus on profit rather than protecting animals. In other words, some zoological parks are not established for saving animals, but for creating income. Consequently, when animals cannot be used for profit, these organizations may eliminate them. In conclusion, although zoos might help with saving endangered animals, I personally believe that zoos may be detrimental since/because they can cause the loss of animals ’ instincts and can be used to generate income.