The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your ownknowledge or experience.

Nowadays, with the development of technology, people's lives have been enriched enormously. Thus, some citizens believe the fundamental objective of science should only be focused on improving the quality of life of human beings. However, I do not fully support this kind of opinion, and this essay will explain why. On the one hand, it is undeniable that the contribution of technology and science, promoted the standard of life. For example, when I was young, I have to walk for hours to reach the destination of my school, but recently, you can even travel around the world within one day. In addition, with science, a lot of labour work is replaced by machines, and people will enjoy more free time with their family or their hobbies. On the other hand, regardless of the happiness that science brings to us, we should not neglect the side effects that science brought us also. For example, global climate change will affect millions of people who live in coastal cities, mainly because of the green gas emission by vehicles, aeroplanes, as well as vessels. In my perspective, while we enjoy the bright side of science, we should also care about the earth, which means that science should also protect the environment, and initiate the translation of sustainable energy. For example, the solar energy, which has no pollution, and no harm to our fragile habitat. In conclusion, science should not only contribute to the lives of humanity, but also care about our only homeland. This kind of responsibility does not belong to one person, but the whole society, and even international cooperation is needed, as we all know, we only have one earth.