The most important aim of science is improve people's life. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views on the goal of developing technology. While some argue that there are other aims for scientific growth, I believed that the top priority of it is to boost people’s living standards. On the one hand, there can be a diversity of purposes for the innovation in scientific realm. Researchers may study and introduce theories based on their personal ambition or curiosity. For example, Newton found gravity after being hit by an apple, and his thirst for knowledge pushes him to do in-depth research. Moreover, domains in research are unrelated to the progression of living standards, but studying it broadens the knowledge they have like the findings in astronomy plays a negligible role in improving the living qualities of ordinary people. On the other hand, the primary target of science should be making people’s lives better. To begin with, progress significantly improves people’s health owing to inventions, such as medicines, vaccines and medical devices. As a result, the death rate decreases dramatically in a short period of time and continues to decline sustainably. A typical case is the discovery of radium, Madame Curie believed scientific research was a public good and championed its utility. She and her husband had discovered that radium destroyed diseased cells faster than healthy cells. Thanks to it, technology has become increasingly advanced. This also resulted in more convenient transportation and more effective infrastructure. For instance, aeroplanes, rockets and nuclear power stations are very useful in modern society. Furthermore, the progress in the area helps food and water supply to become safer with high-tech analyzing machines. In conclusion, I understand the alternative aims of it, but the core purpose of science should be beneficial to human beings.