In many countries these days, the number of people continuing their education after school has decreased, and the range of courses available at universities and colleges has also increased. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, more and more people do not continue their studies after they finish school and there are more courses available, with a wider variety. I believe that there are more negative than positive consequences of not going to college,and I will explain my reasons in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, not continuing educational programs after high school is a negative decision for most individuals because fewer and fewer people will be qualified to do hard work such as engineering, medicine and IT. If society does not want a degree diploma anymore, the future generations will be affected negatively,by having a too small number of experts in technical denial. For example, if people will not go to college anymore, future generations will have just 10 doctors in the city and the costs of treatment+ will rise. Additionally, the range of courses available will grow and that means less competition and, accordingly, little motivation for wanting to get into university. For instance, if there are 200 free seats available at a university, and just 50 young want to attend that school, a student will not be motivated to try hard to get into that institute. On the other hand, for some young adults not going to university means no wasting time. A big part of society continues their studies just to get a diploma not to exceed in that field, and that is a waste of precious years. In other words, a boy wants to get an engineering diploma just to make his father proud, but after,courses he will work in a IT company without needing a degree. In conclusion, I believe that even though for some individuals beneficial, for most students the negative consequences outweigh the positive ones of not continuing studies, resulting in a society with fewer experts.