Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or orgainsation. why might this be the case? what could be the disadvantages of self-employed?

These days, most of the people are choosing to be self-employed rather than working for an organisation. Although this may have advantages, such as flexible working hours and a comfortable work environment, it can also have drawbacks such as financial loss and low success rate. In this essay, I will discuss what I consider to be the benefits and drawbacks of self-employment. To begin with, self-employment can be beneficial in two ways. First of all, no fixed working hours. People can choose to work on their own time rather than following the fixed schedule set by the organisation. It is very beneficial for working mothers, for instance, they can take care of their children as well as earn money and share the financial responsibilities of their family. Another major benefit is, people can take their own decisions and work independently. Employees working in a large organisation have to take orders from their supervisors and work accordingly and they may not be given a chance to take part in important discussions, which is disliked by most of them. Therefore, people tend to leave their jobs and work independently by creating a comfortable working environment for themselves. There are, however, some drawbacks in choosing to be self-employed. Firstly, no fixed salary. This means there is no fixed income and earnings totally depend on the amount of work done. For example, a self-employed graphic designer may not earn the same amount of money every month, it will vary based on the work done per month. Secondly, there is less chance of success. It will involve a lot of hard work and experience to gain clients without a brand name. For instance, reputed companies have more clients because of their brand name and prior experience, whereas it's difficult to acquire a deal from clients independently. In conclusion, choosing to be self-employed can be beneficial in providing flexible working hours and a comfortable work environment, despite the potential problems in terms of money and success rate. As long as the individual is aware of their future direction, self-employment can be extremely beneficial.