Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? The usage of different sources of medicines to avoid visiting a renowned doctor can cause serious health problems rather than solving them. People may search for alternatives because it might be cheaper, but that is a big risk that has punishing outcomes. Personally, I believe if people will pursue developing new ways of getting treated, without the involvement of a specialist, it will have detrimental effects. First, it would be appropriate to discuss why people would seek substitute treatments. On one hand, visiting experienced doctors could become a burden for someone to handle as treatment's length vary from one condition to another, some taking months, years, and even some being chronic. That is, because one couldn't pay a hefty amount per visit, they are more captivated with cheaper replacements. For instance, a recent trend that has gained a lot of popularity is the intake of food supplements instead of hiring a nutritionist to manage one's diet. On the other hand, cheap solutions also come with its perilous implication. First and foremost, the quality of the product could be shoddy, which could make one more prone to other diseases. Thus, one would end up paying more for other medications instead of the main intention of saving money. However, if the money spent was on a professional, the problem may have been already cured or become less severe. Therefore, alternative replacements should be banned as it supports a negative development of well-being. Treatments should be signed by doctors to impede the spread of health problems. To conclude, I believe that talking to a doctor is the main way to become healed and that any act of circumventing it bolsters the reach of more issues.