In the future, nobody will buy printed newspaper or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often anticipated that in the future, people will have access to the vast amount of resources of news and books on the Internet for free so that they will not have to purchase printed materials. I strongly disagree with the statement as I think no writer or newspaper company will provide free services and not every individual will have the required mediums to read articles and writings online. It is undeniable that newspaper companies and book writers write their articles or novels to make profits by selling them to people, so no company will provide their writings without a charge. Authors create their pieces of writing for the public to read, however, the main motive is to make money from selling them through offline libraries or online bookstores. Similarly, newspaper organizations have to make a certain amount of profit to run their company and pay the salaries of staff. Hence, Authors and Editors cannot afford to make their content free of cost for the public to read. For instance, the world's biggest online ebook store, Amazon Kindle sells ebooks with the price similar to the market value of the books or even sometimes higher than the paperback form of the books. Therefore, It will not be possible in the future where books or newspapers will be available online free of charge. Another big factor is that people must need to have access to smart devices to read content online, especially ebooks and online newspapers. To read online content an individual will need a supported device as well as an internet connection. Although, it is an easy task for young generations; however, older citizens who are the main reader of news and books, will struggle to deal with it, As a result, they will stick to the physical format of these contents. For example, older individuals who do not know how to use a smartphone or a laptop will think reading in digital format is a hassle eventually, they will go to a shop and buy the book or newspaper that they find interesting. Thus, it will not be true that no one will purchase the physical format of news content. In conclusion, it is evident that with the advent of future technology, reading materials will be easier to access. Yet as the contents will not be available for free and not everyone can use a smart device to read on the Internet, I firmly oppose the statement above that, no one will depend on the printed material or can access reading contents without a charge.