The internet has transformed the way we live, but it has alos created problems that did not exist before. What are the most serious problems associated with the internet and what solutions can you suggest?

The internet is arguably the most influential invention of modern times. Although it has drastically changed the way we communicate with others, it has created numerous problems. In this essay, I will discuss the most serious problems associated with the internet and suggest two potential solutions. The internet has created many problems, two of which are the weakening of relationships and a drop in attention spans. While time with family and friends used to be spent talking and sharing experiences, nowadays, this time is contaminated with technology. For instance,at any restaurant in the world, the majority of the customers are staring at their phones rather than their companies, which ultimately leads to a deterioration of social bonds. The other, perhaps, somewhat related, issue is the impact on our concentration. The constant distraction the internet presents via email, social media and news updates to name just three, has made it difficult to focus on a single task for an extended time. The result is stress, loss of motivation and a decline in IQ levels in the general population. Despite these pervasive effects, there are ways to reduce them.One is for parents to supervise their children and to model good behaviour when it comes to devices. At dinner, for instance, there should be no phones, and when socialising parents should keep their phones to demonstrate how to be present and undistracted in social situations. The other solution involves a shift in our behaviour as individuals. If each person made a conscious effort to reduce their screen time, turn off notifications and resist checking their phones often, the bad habits resulting from over-reliance on the internet can be managed. Ultimately, it is up to each person to take responsibility for their own internet use. In conclusion, although the internet has revolutionised our world, it has affected the way we interact as well as our cognitive abilities. In order to regain control of our lives, it is up to parents to raise their children with awareness and also to individuals who need to self-regulate their internet use.