Too much money is wasted on repairing old buildings that should be used to knock them down and build new ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that maintaining old buildings has wasted extensive amount of money whereas it was more logical to demolish the old structures and supplant them by more modern ones. In this essay, I will argue that old buildings ought to be knocked down and replaced with new ones as the cost of doing so is reasonably lower than the retrofiting damaged structures, and also this shift towards modernity gives a substantial edge to the future residents of the city. One of the main reason for inclining more towards new buildings rather than keeping old constructions is the financial comparison between the two option. Building a structure at the site of an old facility, requires bulldozing the previous construction, emptying the place from debries, providing a new archituctural and structural design, and then start to build this new looking building. Although this entire process seems frustrating, less money would be spent than in a situation when existing structure is to be repaired. This is because, not only enhancing an existing structure is more hindrance, but also there are fewer experts, with the certified knowledge and experties of being able to perform such projects. Hence, retrofiting is a more expensive scheme than building from scratch. Moreover, from the prespective of future residents, it would be better to live in a modern-looking building than one which has an outdated appearance. For instance, in most big cities, purchasing and renting a newly constructed building is much more expensive than older one, to the extent that only families with a higher financial status is able to live in these modern-looking complexes. By contrast, lower income families have to endure older structures. In conclusion, I would argue that outdated buildings should be replaced by newer ones on the grounds that this will be more economically beneficial for builders, and further this is the more favored option of residents to live in a place that is built recently.