Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

Nowadays many urban areas tend to be overpopulated. This can be seen all around the globe and is not specific to one region. There is a variety of reasons why this is happening and there are a few possible solutions. Firstly, it is important to recognise some of the potential causes of this issue. Many major companies like to build their offices in the center of popular cities as it gives them better links for business and trade. Well recognised cities also tend to attract more people, giving them a larger pool of competitive candidates which they can hire. For example, Samsung has their main office in Warsaw – the capital of Poland. Therefore more jobs, again attracting people from outside the city, leading to more congestion, a knock on effect. However, there are a few things which can be done in order to reduce this overpopulation. These large corporations should incentivise their current managers to work outside the city or even remotely. As they already have jobs and are good at their work, being slightly outside the area won’t affect the corporation in a negative way. In turn, less accommodation needed near their main offices and reducing the demand for people to live in the center. Not to mention less people on public transport. In conclusion, overpopulation is due to multiple factors, some of which can be controlled better than others. It is important to recognise which factors will produce faster and more effective results as the world population continues to grow.