Some believe that people will purchase a product based on their needs and advertising is not needed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising plays a major role in our day to day life even if we don’t realise it. However, some people believe that it is not necessary as the public tends to buy products based on their needs as opposed to what they are advertised. I fundamentally disagree with this opinion as advertising can have a big influence on product sales. Many of us look up to certain individuals, whether be it an actor, singer, sportsman etc. Having these famous stars endorse a product can really push people to buy them as they have a certain level of credibility in our personal opinions. Therefore we may believe the product is good for the only reason being that our favourite celebrity is holding it on tv, regardless of if we actually need it or not. Each year it is becoming evident that we spend an increasing amount of time on social media. This makes it a great place for companies to place products right in front of us and for long periods of time. Moreover, this is especially true for novelty items. For example there are rarely any ads regarding vegetables, fruits or milk as people will buy them regardless of advertising. In my opinion, in an advert it is easier to convince people to buy novelty items they don’t need to spend their extra disposable income. In conclusion, advertising plays a large role in human psychology and where we decide to spend our money. Advertising is most definitely needed, especially from a business point of view, as it can really increase sales. Due to this, we as consumers need to be aware of the tactics these businesses use and how our hard earned money is spent.