some people believe that not all criminals should be kept in prison, but some of them should be allowed to unpaid work to help the community

It is well known that for many years people in prison are isolated from the outside world to serve the time for their crimes. Newer ideas suggest that individuals in prison should rather do community work. I agree with these ideas and will elaborate on my view. The first point is that community work allows criminals to have a different outlook on life and become a better person. This is done by letting them get used to working a normal job, follow a specific routine and have discipline towards their work. This gives them the opportunity to change their life and become better members of society. While contributing to the society, it also permits them to have social interactions outside of their cell. Having relationships within their workplace can make them more ready to leave when their sentence is over and has a positive impact on their mental health. Many may disagree with these points as both of them revolve around giving offenders more freedom and time outside which completely negates the whole purpose of being in prison in the first place. Giving inmates time to feel normal may encourage the same crimes to be committed again as they may have less remorse when they are not on their own. In conclusion, I still believe community work is a brilliant idea. Time will tell on how it can be improved even further. Even with its drawbacks, having a proper schedule along with good management can really impact the society in a positive way.