Some think secondary and high school students should be allowed to choose academic courses leading to university or practical courses leading to careers such as carpenters. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, some individuals believe that secondary school students should be allowed to choose their career path. Whether the route is academic or practical should be at the discretion of the student. I completely agree with this view and will elaborate on my opinion. To begin with, it may be beneficial for students to have limited choices at an early age. This is because they are continuing to mature and having many choices may be confusing. In addition, having fewer choices may allow them to be more focused and in turn, more committed to their career development. Not to mention, with a academic degree, they are able to go back to a more practical path later on whereas it is more difficult vice versa. On the other hand, having multiple career paths may be useful. Having more options gives students the ability to make a better, more informed decision. With more variety, there's a higher likelihood that a student finds something that aligns with their interest and personality. Furthermore, students are less pressured to make a decision with standards set by the school or society. Therefore, students can get early exposure to the career of their choice, enabling them to reach their dreams and goals earlier on in life. For example, an apprenticeship a student starts at eighteen will have three years experience against a student who began at twenty-one. (average university graduate age) In conclusion, I believe students should have the decision to choose a path that suits them the best. This varies from student-to- student which is why having many options is advantageous. Regardless, exploring each path and being committed to their decision is equally important.