All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both adults and children. What are the reasons for the rise in obesity? How could it be solved?

Nowadays, obesity has become a growing global issue. Being overweight does not merely damage adults’ well-being, but children’s as well. In many cases, a high-calorie diet is the cause of obesity and most modern citizens have been exposed and encouraged to one. The essay will discuss the main three reasons for this problem and provide some possible solutions. To begin with, it is clear that junk food has gained more popularity in modern day society. With the intention for a bigger profit, food businesses overwhelm consumers, both adults and children, with attractive advertisements in every media possible. For example, KFC in Australia promotes their deep-fried chicken on every social media, as well as billboards on the highways, tempting consumers to order their meal. To tackle this issue, I suggest the government limit the exposure to these unhealthy products while promoting some healthier alternatives. To do so, it may help each individual to make more educated choices in food consumption. Another problem is that the rising number of low-income households cannot afford healthy food. Under the influence of recent declining economy, people turn to junk food that contains higher calories in a lower price to cut the cost of living. For instance, the price of some fruit and vegetables in Australia increased in the last couple years. One avocado is often priced as much as a large pack of chips. A solution to this phenomenon is the authority to raise the taxes for unhealthy food products and use the fund to support low-income individuals, which can, hopefully, allow them to be able to afford healthier choices. The third cause of this problem is the lack of healthy food choices at school. For many students, they fail to obtain proper nutrition from their school lunches. To give an example, most schools in the U.S.A only provide high-calorie food such as pizza and french fries for their students. In order to solve this problem, the government must monitor and regulate education institutes to offer at least one healthy option while reducing the unhealthy ones. Otherwise, the next generation is forced to take on an unhealthy eating habit that will later develop into health issues like obesity. To sum up, the inclining trend of obesity in the world is due to the rising consumption of junk food, the high cost of healthy alternatives and the high-calorie school lunch for children. This is a serious problem, unless the government steps in and improves the situation, more people including children will suffer severe diseases from being overweight.