Public celebrations (national days, festivals) are held in many countries. Some people say that these celebrations are a waste of money and we should spend money on more important things. Do you agree or disagree?

Public celebrations are highly valued in many countries because of their importance to national culture and history. Some criticize that the government should allocate more monetary resources for other social welfare instead of wasting money on festivals. In my opinion, I firmly believe that the expense involved in celebrating national days and festivals is worthwhile. Celebrating historical days bring greater unity among citizens which is vital to overall national development. It is evident that these special occasions are important because they associate with our history, culture or even core values. For example, on the national day, there are official ceremonies such as flag hoisting, playing the national anthem and parades which remind us of the fact that we should not take the comfort and freedom we enjoy today for granted. They are accomplished by the hardship and perseverance of our ancestors decades ago. These public celebrations provide a more remarkable experience for nationals, instilling patriotism and increasing their national identity which is worth spending. On the other hand, some people argue that the limited public funding should be utilized in other areas to improve people’s living conditions. It is undeniable that a considerable number of fiscal resources are spent on traditional festivals. However, renowned festivals boost tourism and the local economy, creating job opportunities and increasing government revenue. For instance, the Rio de Janeiro Carnival attracts approximately 500,000 tourists visiting Thailand yearly, which has become one of the most important sources of income for the Thailand government. In conclusion, although public celebrations are not cheap to be held, the money is worth spending because it brings people together and upholds national integrity. It also makes a huge contribution to economic growth.