Despite the increased access to education, a significant number of people cannot read or write. What are the disadvantages and what action should the government take?

Despite the growing approach to education, a considerable number of residents cannot read or write. This essay will outline a number of disadvantages of this trend and several possible solutions to tackle the issue. To begin with, there are several disadvantages which come from this trend. One of the main inconveniences of this problem is the difficulties to get a job. For instance, today in Vietnam there are very few companies that hire illiterate population to work such as Vinfact. Therefore, they don't have the opportunity for professional development. Obviously, they are unable to read and understand knowledge related to everyday life. For example, they can’t read newspapers to update with the news or read about new technology knowledge to understand them. Consequently, illiterate people will be difficult to read and comprehend books to widen their knowledge and meet that requirement. Although illiterate people are facing certain limitations. However, the government can solve this problem by implementing a variety of solutions. Firstly, the national leaders should provide financial support to the families have residents who are illiterate. In fact, governments in developing countries such as Lao or Campuchia can set up providers to help poor families get more children to school. Secondly, open more evening or weekend classes to teach the illiterate for free. For instance, math or language courses on television or on the Internet. Accordingly, the younger generation can study government-provided online courses for free in their homes. In conclusion, although there are some specific impacts on illiterate people, there are a number of viable solutions to counteract this problem.