Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that it is necessary to study extra subjects rather than focusing on their main subjects, while others contend that concentrating on obtaining a qualification is more significant. This essay will discuss both viewpoints, followed by my personal stance. On the one hand, there are many students who desire to explore diverse subjects to deepen their current knowledge in their major, considering the fact that learning areas are interconnected. For example, to perfectly understand children's development, it is vital to learn not only about the aspects of children’s physical conditions but also about childhood psychology and the social environment. In other words, it is beneficial to learn a variety of topics associated with a main subject for speciality improvement. On the other hand, others prioritize the qualification, believing that spending their time investigating other learning areas other than a core subject is time -wasting. One potential reason for this belief is that the ultimate goal of studying is to gain a degree which can be achieved by completing the course in time. However, if students took extra courses to learn about other specialities, it would take much more time to finish their studies, leading to a delay in graduation. Therefore, for students whose priority is obtaining a graduate certificate, it is the most essential to put their all efforts into the completion of their major subjects. Both points of view are reasonable, but I personally suggest that having opportunities to research new fields during school breaks would be the best option. By engaging in summer sessions, for example, students can expand their academic achievements with the enhancement of their learning dispositions, such as curiosity and enthusiasm, as well as manage their time more efficiently during the study periods. Thus, I believe that this approach will contribute to cultivating graduates who are qualified and well-informed. To sum up, although there are two different opinions on whether it is crucial to learn various fields rather than focusing merely on the main subject, I argue that both aspects should be regarded as important. However, to minimize the risk of being failed in the core subject, it is recommended to participate in summer sessions which are held during the school breaks.