Although the prices of fuels have greatly increased over the last decade or two, it is argued that further increases in fuel prices are the only way to reduce world consumption of fuel and lesson pressure on worlds fuel resources To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Fossil fuels have successively been diminished over the last decades owing to the fact of its exhausting consumption by human beings. The question arises whether lifting prices could reduce this problem, and will be discussed in the following paragraphs. Gas and oil are mainly required for heating and transportation issues. On the one hand, raising their costs results into less consumption, as can clearly be seen during the Russian war in the Ukraine recently. Europeans were shocked by the high prices for fossil fuels and therefore accepted lower indoor temperatures during the winter as a case in point. They even tried to avoid driving their cars as much as before in order to spare gas, oil, and money respectively. Obviously, increasing the expenditure for fossil fuels will eventuate into less usage. On the other hand, despite the continuously escalating of fuel’s prices over the last decades, more and more consumption has been taken place anyway. My grandfather used to say, if a liter of oil cost more than two Euros, nobody would drive anymore. Unfortunately, he was wrong. Neither the fact of increasing prices nor the graduate disappearance of resources will detain people from consuming gas and oil. Apparently, it reveals human nature to live a comfortable life enjoying the moment without thinking about the devastating consequences in the future. To sum up, in my opinion there is hardly a chance that human beings might finally see the need to decrease their level of consumption especially when it comes to fossil fuels. Only a sudden exorbitant threat of loosing their money might reduce stuck patterns.