Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the globalizing world, people are expected to have flexibility regarding language skills. Although speaking two languages was considered an outstanding command a few years ago, it is now seen as a fundamental quality. In this regard, learning new languages whether for a particular goal or not raises conflict. From my standpoint as a language -lover, being able to communicate in various languages or idiolects improves a person’s perception. Firstly, learning a foreign language to travel or work is significantly essential because under no circumstances will it be feasible or appropriate to not speak the language of the country in which the employee or traveller will be engaged. In addition to that, being able to speak the language that the interlocutors speak will undoubtedly make the individual feel less left out and homesick. However, I believe that these are not the only reasons to add up your language skills. To my eyes, studying a different language provides a larger perception of the world and even better comprehension of your native language. For example, research done by neurolinguistics in the US suggests that 43% of the people who put an effort to add new vocabulary from different languages had a better understanding of the English language. I believe that behind this finding lies the fact that many languages are inherited from the same roots. Moreover, it raises confidence and self-esteem, hence the connection between the language area and personality area in the brain. To conclude, some people claim that foreign languages are only learned if there is a specific goal such as to travel or to work while others think it has other benefits such as posing a good way to train your brain or skyrocketing confidence. I strongly engage in the idea of learning languages without a need to use them.