Governments should spend money on railway rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

When it comes to spending government funds on different purposes, some people argue that countries should prioritize railways rather than roads. I partly agree with this statement as they both bring advantages for people and the system. With regard to roads, building and improving its infrastructures have many benefits. Firstly, not all places, especially remote ones, have access to trains. Thus, people can reach there only by car on the roads. Take a place in a mountainous area for example, if a person intends to reach there, road expansions are more reasonable rather than railways with regard to the costs of building them. Secondly, driving and taking a trip by car is more comfortable than train. In other words, people can stop wherever they want in order to take a rest. For instance, travelling far away by car gives you the opportunity to stop by different cities on your way and take a nap. In terms of railways, expanding them is more strategic and important for a government. Having railway expansion all around the country enables the military to reach frontiers in a shorter time rather than using a car or trucks. In fact, one of the most crucial features during World War II was having access to trains and moving soldiers throughout different frontiers. Moreover, using trains as a means of transportation reduces the exorbitant prices of transporting goods, especially between two countries. As an example, when a product is produced in Turkey and a company wants to export it to Iran, it will be more affordable for them to use trains instead of trucks. In conclusion, governments should decide between spending money on spreading out railways or roads. This decision will be made on the benefits each can bring.