Discuss about the advantages and disadvantages of long working hours.

Long-shift hours are common in today's fast-paced world. Working for a long time has both advantages and disadvantages, but the disadvantages are more comparatively and can not be ignored. The positive points for working longer time are few. The main benefit of working a long time is that it helps to keep a person's brain busy for a long time. This could be helpful in the case of some drug addicts and troublemakers. As a consequence of staying busy for long, such people may forget other things for a while, which would be useful if done consistently. For example, research has shown that if a person can stay from drugs for at least 5 hours regularly, then the chances of quitting drugs are more and easy. On the negative side, first and foremost, longer shifts are not good for health. For instance, if people working in the IT sector, tend to work in front of a screen for more than 8 hours on a daily basis this might reduce their eyesight. Some health issues such as back pain, thyroid, and sore feet (if standing job) are very common in case of long work timings. Secondly, lack of social life, as a person working too long is more likely to spend the rest of the day sleeping or resting. Hence, there would be no time to spend with family and friends which could lead to mental stress. In conclusion, I reiterate that spending extra hours in a job has fewer advantages but more disadvantages.