People in many countries today have to spend more and more time away from their families. What are the reasons? What effects it has on themselves and their families

In contemporary society, people spend less time with families due to a multitude of factors, which results in both positive and negative effects. In this essay, it will elaborate on the reasons behind the phenomenon and its consequences. One reason for this trend is that the young generation has to devote more effort to the increasing workload. Driven by fierce competition, employees are facing overloading pressure, and they have to work overtime as a result in a bid to keep the job. On the flip side of the coin, enterprises need to tighten the budget by hiring as less employees as they can as the economy slows down and competition intensifies. Therefore, working overtime has become a normality and even a part of our culture. For example, working from 9 am to 9 pm, six days a week is not uncommon in the growing number of companies any more. Another reason is that, thanks to globalisation, many students and graduates are able to study or pursue careers abroad. For instance, the UK enrols millions of students each year, many of whom choose to continue their studies or land a job over there, thus separating themselves from home. Undoubtedly, spending more time and effort on working can drive them to be skilled at their jobs as soon as possible and staying away from home may be beneficial to individual growth, which can make them grow up independently, so that they are capable of addressing difficulties and challenges. However, the trend is not always a blessing. If we contribute too much to our daily jobs, there will be troubled by stress and monotonousness. As an old saying goes " All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy". Furthermore, it may trigger lethal diseases such as cardiac sudden death, stroke, etc., if overworking frequently. In addition, When isolated from their families, their parents could be anxious and worried about their well-being, and the husband and the wife may feel estranged from each other, thereby weakening the bond among family members. In conclusion, heavy workload and the chances of studying and working abroad are the main contributors to the trend and we should invest more time with our families, because the drawbacks outweigh the benefits from it.