Do you think it is better for governments to spend money developing public transportation or developing new kinds of cars? Why or why not? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In my opinion, spending money on public vehicles would be more beneficial than investing in the manufacturing of private cars, as it would help people on a large scale to commute. Also, the development of different kinds of cars is owned by private companies such as Tesla, whereas the responsibility for public vehicles is taken by the government only. Moving further, there are some other factors that support my stance and are mentioned in the upcoming paragraphs. First of all, the advantage of investing in public vehicles helps everybody to commute easily, but creating electric cars can only benefit higher-class people. Moreover, there are a lot of people working in cities for their 9-5 job who travel by buses, trains, and subways only. For instance, in Tokyo and Seoul, the government has expanded its public transport system, and most people travel by subway and buses. The second reason is the reduction of traffic congestion. More cars result in traffic jams, and hence, people waste their time in traffic. In large cities like London, the advancement of public transportation has shown less congestion on the roads, and people tend to waste less time in traffic and arrive at work on time. The third reason is environmental pollution and the maintenance of roads. In nations where people own more private vehicles, has more pollution, and roads are not well maintained, resulting in more accidents. The study in the US has shown that public transports emit 45% less carbon dioxide than cars. So, spending money on public transportation will help in less pollution, and roads will be less likely to be damaged, which will result in free and clear roads. To conclude, upgrading public means of transportation will serve middle and low-class people, as rich people can afford to commute in their own cars. Lastly, it will result in less environmental and noise pollution.