As people live longer and longer, the idea of cloning human beings in order to provide spare parts is becoming a reality. The idea horrifies most people, yet it is no longer mere science fiction. To what extent do you agree with such a procedure? Have you any reservations?

In modern times, people increasingly, observe a wider lifespan, due to better and more accessible medical facilities. The concept of cloning as a tool for organ replacement is turning into a reality from the realm of science fiction. However I am in agreement that this whole exercise of cloning surely has got some really gruesomely sinister aspects. This essay will make a sincere effort to discuss it along with my position in this regard. To begin with, although cloning has been claimed to be successful, there is no such concrete evidence to conclusively validate its success. Cloning appears to be lucrative as an idea, but happens to be an uncertain reality for implementation, for a multitude of reasons. Leaving aside everything, the cost it incurs outweighs, by a huge margin, the probable benefits that one may reap out of its success, if at all. In addition to what we have already discussed, cloning is not that easy, as it involves a lot of technical constraints. Even for the sake of argument, if cloning ever comes to be successful, the compatibility of the organs, required to be transplanted from the cloned one, would be a real challenge. Other than that, the question of cruelty to life is also something that can not be ignored so easily. I do have staunch reservations about this whole pursuit of growing a human life form only for using it as a resource for organs. To conclude, cloning is in no way a conclusive answer to address the problem of human organ replacement. With scores of unsuccessful attempts with varying and uncertain results, it is definitely not worthy of time effort and money. Instead other less-risky and less-expensive routes should be explored.