For all children, the ability to play a musical instrument is just as important as the ability to read and write.’ How far do you agree with this suggestion? How important is it for a child to learn to play a musical instrument, in your view?

Most parents agree that playing a musical instrument is as essential as the ability to read and write. As an objective observer, I humbly agree with this statement. For starters, learning an instrument can act as a great mental stimulus. The human brain is a complex network of emotional stimuli that can be activated by playing music. This is all possible because of musical notation, which, when put together in a particular structure, has the ability to shift a person's mood, making them sad, angry, happy, or confused. For example, intense drumming can make someone feel and act energetic. Building on that, musical notations also work in conjunction with memory; at an early age, children's brains are not fully developed yet, which leaves room for developing a certain skill. That is why musical notation plays a huge part in building a child's ability to remember well; through practice and repetition, they will be able to identify and associate a specific notation with memory. By allowing their brains to work harder, they are enhancing their long-term and short-term memories. Several studies at the University of California show that musicians tend to have better short-term memory than non-musicians when it comes to everyday tasks. In conclusion, I highly recommend parents consider having their child pick up an instrument and practice it well. If they are not interested in it, then there is no need to force your child to take up an instrument; view it more as a hobby than a necessity.